November 18, 2018

Go Back   FlyFishingInNH.com Forum > General > Fly Tying

Old 03-08-2005, 08:06 PM

Send a message via MSN to troutscout
Default Easy Streamers

I've been tying for about 2 years but have never tackled any streamers. They've always just looked so complicated. However, I've gained some confidence in my tying skills and I'm ready to give it a try. Could anyone suggest a few patterns that are easy to tie for a novice and useful in New England streams?
Old 03-08-2005, 08:36 PM

Default Black Ghost

The Black Ghost is a simple but effective pattern to start with. Some bucktail patterns, such as the Light and Dark Edson Tigers are relatively simple and will catch fish. If you can find one, get ahold of a copy of "Streamer Fly Tying and Fishing" by Joe Bates. It's out of print, but is pretty much the "bible" on streamers.
Old 03-09-2005, 09:57 AM

I would look for some easy bucktail streamers. Mickey Finns, Black Nose Dace etc. Wooly buggers is another easy tie. Then you could progress to the more difficult featherwing style.

GOOGLE is a good place to look up fly patterns as well as the multitude of tying books out there.

Good luck,

My Midge Page

Flytying: New & Old
Old 03-09-2005, 12:29 PM

Default easy-to-tie streamers

You can also substitute maribou for feathers on on the Black Ghost. Works fine; easy to tie.
Old 03-09-2005, 06:17 PM

Personally, I prefer maribu on black ghosts, although sometimes if the feathers are sparse i put two in to give it a full look.
Old 03-09-2005, 09:36 PM

You could also try the Red & White Marabou & the Montreal Whore (which combines bucktail & marabou)...and don't pass up the opportunity to try tying with llama hair. I tied up some Supervisors with blue llama & can't wait to try them out in a few weeks. The llama has unreal movement in the water, similar to marabou.
Old 03-10-2005, 08:43 AM